Northern Italy

Information About Northern Italy

Italy has 20 regions (counties). These are divided into provinces. These are again divided into municipalities, of which there are more than 8000:

Emilia-Romagna (Bologna)

Located between the river Po in the north and the Apennines in the south. Main industry is agriculture.
This region produces Ferrari, Lamborghini and Maserati. Emilia-Romagna is one of Europe’s richest regions. The famous Parma ham comes from this region.

Friuli – Venezia Giulia

Located in the far east of the Alps and bordering Slovenia. The regional capital is Trieste. The Udinese football club is located in the city of Udine.


The Cinque Terre, the famous coastal path between the five cities, is located in Liguria. Liguria is the last coastal region in the northwest, and where the coast turns down towards France. Here are Genoa (regional capital) and La Spezia. Liguria has a long coastline and is a popular tourist destination.


Located towards the Alps but also has large flat areas. The regional capital is Milan. In Milan, the football teams Milan and Inter are based. Lombardy is Italy’s most populous region with as many as 9 million inhabitants and one of Europe’s richest regions. Here are the lakes Maggiore, Como and Garda. To the north of the region are the Italian Alps. Franciacorta is produced in Lombardy. Franciacorta is a sparkling wine that ranks better than prosecco. Champagne faces great competition from these good Italian sparkling wines.


Barolo, Barbaresco and Barbera are produced in this area. Located in the northwest towards France. The regional capital is Turin. Juventus have their home ground in Turin. Varied landscape. The Alps, the Po plain and ridges. Wine, truffles and good food are key words for Piedmont. 1/3 of all DOCG (the highest quality wine classification) in Italy is produced in Piedmont. The grapes are Nebbiolo, Barbera dolcetta and Muscat. Fiat has its headquarters and most important factory in Turin. Piedmont is a popular destination for wine lovers.

Valle d’Aosta

The Cervinia ski destination is located at the foot of the Matterhorn. Monte Cervino is the Italian name for the Matterhorn. Via trails and lifts you can get from Cervinia to Swiss Zermatt. A fantastic ski area. Here you can find the lift in Europe that goes highest in the mountains. The highest point for skiing is 3883 masl and is called the Little Matterhorn. From Zermatt there are lifts and trams from about 1600 to 3400 masl. Valle d’Aosta is Italy’s smallest region. Aosta borders France and Switzerland. Key words for this region are skiing, afterski and hiking in summer.

Trentino – Alto Adige

Val di Fiemme, a famous ski destination, is located in this northernmost region. 35% of those living in this region are German-speaking. Here is the famous ski resort Marcialonga, popular with many Norwegians.


The eastern part of Lake Garda is located in Veneto. Verona and Venice are in this region. Many believe that Verona is one of the most beautiful cities in Italy. Here you can experience outdoor opera concerts in the “Arena di Verona”, which looks like a Colosseum in miniature. Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet have Verona as a backdrop, and a white balcony is a favorite tourist destination. The region operates extensively in high-tech industry and fashion. The Benetton clothing brand comes from this region.
Also well-known wine districts where Amarone, Valpolicella, Soave and ripasso wines are produced. Lake Garda is located in the three regions of Lombardo, Trentino Alto Adige and Veneto.

Read more about Northern Italy, Central Italy, Southern Italy or Italian Islands